Saturday, 7 July 2007

Greatest Test XI

This is the revised final 28-man shortlist:

Opening batsmen (4):
Len Hutton, Jack Hobbs, Herbert Sutcliffe, Sunil Gavaskar

Middle-order batsmen (7):
George Headley, Brian Lara, Viv Richards, Don Bradman, Wally Hammond, Ricky Ponting, Graeme Pollock

Wicket-keepers (2):
Adam Gilchrist, Les Ames

Allrounders (3):
Imran Khan, Keith Miller, Gary Sobers

Spinners (4):
Shane Warne, Bill O’Reilly, Muttiah Muralitharan, Jim Laker

Fast bowlers (8):
Dennis Lillee, Ray Lindwall, Malcolm Marshall, Curtley Ambrose, Fred Trueman, Glenn McGrath, Alan Davidson, Richard Hadlee

The changes are Gilchrist in for Andy Flower, on account of his fantastic ability to seize a game from number seven (and his superior keeping), Laker for Derek Underwood, due to his outstanding average (just 21) and superlative 1956 Ashes series, and Trueman for Wasim Akram (just), as reward for his indefatigable excellence.

The next stage will be to analysis each facet of the list, which will begin in a few days.

No comments: